As we transition to the new Hyland Community, some post links may be temporarily disrupted as we finalize redirects. We apologize for the inconvenience and are working to resolve this as quickly as possible. Details.
One of our clients wants do disabled the 'Shared Files' option because he doesn't want users to be able to put files in the shared files area, just in their own sites.
Is there a way to do this?
Hope this helps:
https://docs.alfresco.com/5.1/tasks/dev-extensions-share-tutorials-custom-header-menu-item-removal.html
Thanks.
I have actually already seen this but I was hoping there was an easier way that didn't involve re-writing Alfresco or creating whole new AMP modules.
Can it be done simply by changing permissions anywhere?
Yes, the simpliest way is change permisions on folder "Shared" in repository. Of couse, users will have menu item "Shared files", but they coudn't write to it.